I’m not cut out to be a Postman (and other lessons I’ve learned)

Sing it with me:

“Please, Mr. Postman, look and see”…if there’s a shortcut from my neighbor’s house to me…

Over the past 2 days I have walked door-to-door handing out fliers about the first annual Mad Park 5K to all of our neighbors whose homes are on the actual race route. Here are some lessons I learned on this adventure.

  1. There are 241 homes that sit along the Mad Park 5K route. That’s less than 20% of all of the homes in Madison Park. According to my Fitbit, I have walked more than 26,000 steps and climbed more than 70 flights of stairs delivering these fliers, over the course of about 5 hours across 2 days. My mailman is like a superhero or Santa Clause! How in the world does he visit all of our homes EVERY DAY (except Sunday) – rain, sun, snow, sleet…I’m guaranteed to get mail (usually a bill) every day thanks to him and I seriously don’t know how he does it. Delivering mail will not be on my list of fallback careers.
  2. Of the 241 homes I stopped by, only 3 have a mailbox at the street. The others you have to walk up the driveway and/or climb steps to the mailbox at the door. And we have some very fun doors – fun colors, multicolored, 70’s style, beautiful wreaths, stained glass. I’m not going to lie – I have some door envy now.
  3. I got to talk with no less than 20 neighbors while I was on this adventure. My favorite was a lady who moved into this neighborhood in 1969. She has 6 children and 8 grandchildren. Her second youngest grandchild turned 8 on the same day my baby boy turned 1. She was so thrilled to see that she was on the race route. She said “I told my kids how I live in a “hip neighborhood” now – we have a 5K!”
  4. Beware of hills! I must say that my jaunt around the neighborhood was fun – I was walking, but if you’re participating in this 5K you do have some hill work ahead of you.
  5. You’re going to be so glad that we end at Brawley’s! I parked my car there today to finish passing out fliers on that last stretch of the race route, and after 2 hours in the cold, windy sun (it was about 37 degrees when I finished) – I was chilled to the bone. I walked in to Jeff’s smiling face, warmth, and wine (they have beer too), and I thought to myself – our event participants are going to love this being the end of their 5K!
Leave a Reply

