And will you succeed?

I started planning a 5K in my head about 7 years ago. It was a silent dream, but one that I knew would happen one day. Don’t you dream of planning logistics for race events or spectator sports??? No??? Hmmm….

As I cheered my husband on at 5Ks, marathons, Ironman events and I participated in my own events, I would make mental notes of logistical highlights and things I might would have done differently if given the chance. A lot of mental notes, having moved into a neighborhood we love, and cultivating a truly amazing network of friends were just the things I needed to start formalizing my dream of becoming an event planner and the logistics for a neighborhood 5K.

We are now 10 days away from the first ever Mad Park 5K in Madison Park, Charlotte, NC and this event has far exceeded every initial expectation I had. I am completely humbled by the support for this event. Today being Dr. Seuss Day, I thought it only fitting to write a tribute to those that have helped make this event what it will be. Today we have 130 race participants registered and 25 volunteers helping produce this event. Their contributions to this event will not only make it the best 5K this neighborhood has ever seen (because it’s the first one its ever seen; HA!), but they will also set the precedent for how this event will grow year over year. As they say in the Lorax – “it’s not about what it is, it’s about what it can become.” I’m so excited to be a part of this event with these folks and I’m sure there will be even more before March 12. Thank you, thank you, thank you to everyone that has made donations, sacrificed their time and donated their talents, offered their expertise, registered to participate, stepped up to ensure our participants stay safe during the event….. So much has gone into this event and I know we will all be blown away with how amazing the Mad Park 5K is when all of our energies come together on race day. No matter your role, I hope that you have more fun on race day than I have had planning it. If that’s the case – you’re going to have a blast!

And will you succeed? Yes you will indeed! 98 and 3/4 percent guaranteed!
-Dr. Seuss

 

One thought on “And will you succeed?

  1. i ran the 5k this morning- it wAS a very nice run, well run and very neighborly. i had not planned a trip to charlotte, my plans occurred thursday night… i am from orlando and run a lot. i am disappointed- i think a glass could have been offered (the brewery had plenty) to late sign up persons- at the very least you could offer to mail after… or a discount ,

    Like

Leave a Reply

